

SYNOD CONVENTION 2025

Wisconsin Evangelical Lutheran Synod

2025 CONVENTION AGENDA

July 21–24, 2025 Martin Luther College, New Ulm, Minn.

The Steering Committee may revise the agenda at any time.

MONDAY AFTERNOON—July 21, 2025

2:30 p.m.	Optional campus tour for those arriving early-meet in front of the Chapel
4:00 p.m.	Delegate orientation in the gymnasium Rev. Joel Voss, WELS second vice president Mr. Martin Spriggs, WELS chief technology officer Mr. Dan Nommensen, WELS communications director
5:00 p.m.	Dinner
6:30 p.m.	Opening service with communion in the Chapel of the Christ Presiding minister: <i>Rev. Mark Schroeder, WELS president</i> Preacher: <i>Rev. Mark Gabb, WELS Home Missions administrator</i>
8:00 p.m.	Floor committees meet to organize and plan
9:00 p.m.	Fellowship and refreshments

TUESDAY MORNING—July 22, 2025

6:30-7:45 a.m.	Breakfast
8:00 a.m.	Lutheran Women's Missionary Society presentation of the flags Mrs. Paula Windschitl and Mrs. Jackie Hieb, LWMS Minnesota Valley Circuit
8:20 a.m.	Call to order Rev. Mark Schroeder, WELS president Devotion Rev. Robert Guenther, St. John's, New Ulm, Minn.
8:45 a.m.	Welcome Rev. Richard Gurgel, Martin Luther College president
8:50 a.m.	Synod president's report Rev. Mark Schroeder, WELS president

9:20 a.m.	Recognition of Rev. James Huebner for 16 years as first vice president and Rev. Robert Pasbrig for 20 years as recording secretary
9:30 a.m.	Floor Committee #18 (Elections) Nominating ballot for first vice president
9:40 a.m.	Introduction of special guests and observers Rev. Mark Schroeder, WELS president
	Rev. Karl Gurgel, Wisconsin Ev. Lutheran Synod former president Rev. Glenn Obenberger, Evangelical Lutheran Synod president Dr. Matthew Harrison, Lutheran Church–Missouri Synod president Rev. James Krikava, Lutheran Church–Missouri Synod Rev. Joseph Naumann, Church of the Lutheran Confession vice president Rev. Makisimu Musa, Obadiah Lutheran Synod of Uganda president Rev. Baltazar Kaaya, Africa Mission Evangelism Church of Tanzania bishop Rev. John Braun, WELS 175th Anniversary Planning Committee member
9:45 a.m.	Floor Committee #18 (Elections) Election of first vice president
9:50 a.m.	Break
10:05 a.m.	Financial results Mr. Kyle Egan, WELS chief financial officer
10:35 a.m.	Floor Committee #18 (Elections) Election process continues
10:45 a.m.	Ministry Financial Plan Mr. Kyle Egan, WELS chief financial officer
11:15 a.m.	Greetings Rev. Glenn Obenberger, Evangelical Lutheran Synod president Rev. Makisimu Musa, Obadiah Lutheran Synod of Uganda president Rev. Karl Gurgel, Wisconsin Ev. Lutheran Synod former president
12:00 noon	Lunch Optional 30-minute tour of the Chapel of the Christ

TUESDAY AFTERNOON—July 22, 2025

1:15 p.m.	Floor Committee #18 (Elections) Election process continues
1:20 p.m.	Presentation of anniversary gift Prof. Joel Otto, WELS Historical Institute board of directors chairman and WELS 175th Anniversary Planning Committee chairman
1:25 p.m.	Convention essay Prof. Joel Otto, Wisconsin Lutheran Seminary

3:00 p.m.	Break
3:15 p.m.	Long-range strategic plan—"Christ through us" Rev. Jonathan Hein, WELS Congregational Services coordinator and WELS Long- Range Planning Task Force member
4:15 p.m.	Floor Committee #18 (Elections) Election process continues
4:30 p.m.	Floor committee meeting time in assigned rooms
5:00 p.m.	Dinner

TUESDAY EVENING—July 22, 2025

6:00 p.m.	Floor committee meeting time
7:00 p.m.	Special 175th anniversary presentation: The history of Martin Luther College (WCC Auditorium) Prof. Paul Koelpin, Martin Luther College
8:00 p.m.	Floor committee meeting time if needed Fellowship and refreshments

WEDNESDAY MORNING—July 23, 2025

6:30-7:45 a.m.	Breakfast
8:00 a.m.	Devotion Rev. Steven Prahl, Foundation, Peyton, Colo.
8:20 a.m.	Floor Committee #18 (Elections) Election process continues
8:30 a.m.	Commission on Inter-Church Relations Prof. James Danell, chairman
8:45 a.m.	Floor Committee #18 (Elections) Election process continues
9:00 a.m.	World Missions Rev. Larry Schlomer, administrator Rev. Jonathan Schroeder, chairman
9:45 a.m.	Break
10:00 a.m.	Home Missions Rev. Mark Gabb, administrator Rev. Matthew Brown, chairman

10:45 a.m.	Floor Committee #18 (Elections) Election process continues
10:50 a.m.	Congregational Services Rev. Jonathan Hein, WELS Congregational Services coordinator Mr. Jim Rademan, WELS Commission on Lutheran Schools director Rev. Paul Prange, WELS Commission on Worship director
11:20 a.m.	Northwestern Publishing House Mr. Jeremy Angle, president
11:40 a.m.	Ministry of Christian Giving Rev. Kurt Lueneburg, director
12:00 noon	Lunch

WEDNESDAY AFTERNOON—July 23, 2025

1:15 p.m.	Lutheran Military Support Group Mr. Bradley Price, president and CEO
1:30 p.m.	Ministerial Education Rev. Duane Rodewald, chairman Rev. Earle Treptow, Wisconsin Lutheran Seminary president Rev. Richard Gurgel, Martin Luther College president Rev. Matthew Crass, Luther Preparatory School president Rev. Mark Luetzow, Michigan Lutheran Seminary president
2:15 p.m.	WELS Christian Aid and Relief Rev. Daniel Sims, director
2:30 p.m.	Wisconsin Lutheran College Dr. Daniel Johnson, president
2:45 p.m.	Break
3:00 p.m.	Floor committee reports
5:00 p.m.	Dinner

WEDNESDAY EVENING—July 23, 2025

6:30 p.m. WELS Missions presentations World Missions: *Rev. Luis Acosta, Academia Cristo for Spanish ministry in the US Mr. Erik Landwehr, Native American missions Rev. Jon Bare, Asia Lutheran Seminary Rev. Howard Mohlke, One Africa Team* Home Missions: Rev. Caleb Free, Risen Savior, Lakewood Ranch, Fla. Rev. Mark Schroeder, Peace, Gilbert, Ariz. Rev. Jonathan Bourman, Saint Mark Mankato, Mankato, Minn. Rev. Steven Prahl, Foundation, Peyton, Colo.

8:30 p.m. Floor committee meetings Fellowship and refreshments

THURSDAY MORNING—July 24, 2025

6:30-7:45 a.m.	Breakfast
8:00 a.m.	Devotion Rev. Jesse Stern, Bay Pines, Seminole, Fla.
8:20 a.m.	Floor committee reports
10:00 a.m.	Break
10:15 a.m.	Floor committee reports
10:45 a.m.	Closing remarks Rev. Mark Schroeder, WELS president
11:00 a.m.	Closing service and installation of officers in the Chapel of the Christ Presiding minister: <i>Rev. Richard Gurgel, Martin Luther College president</i> Preacher: <i>Rev. Douglas Free, Dakota-Montana District president</i>
11:30 a.m.	Lunch—eat on-site or take to go